I Have Traveled the World

I have seen the sea change from morning to night. I have seen the most amazing creatures. My craft has been chauffeured by dolphins.

I have witnessed Shearwater birds swim 60 feet underwater and then take off and fly through the sky. I have seen creatures in the waves that defy explaining. I have won battles by just showing up. I have played Smiles in the Philippines and silently viewed

the Coral Triangle.

I have played games in the vastness of the undulating nothing. Took leave in Kuwait and

saw Octopi with fins in miles upon miles of quiet, solitude. Experienced the ruggedness of

the Azores,

the cold of Ellesmere,

the isolation of Tristan da Cunha.

Places were birds seem to soar for weeks and volcanoes taller than Everest rise from the ocean bed, but still far from the suns power.

Their eruptions shake the planet, heat the water and cause the winds of the Earth to circulate. I have inhaled salt air, marveled at shoals of fish. I have traveled and through drills, tours, and practices I have paid enough attention to know that the ocean and the sky

are but inverted and that I don’t walk but I am one of the many creatures that swim through air. Oh, I’ve been places, and there are two things I have learned. One is that I have no answers and Two I am most at home right here on this couch.

MG Hardie

