I am Daddy, overworked and under appreciated.

The one who let’s you sleep late on Saturday and get your

hair braided.

I am the homework harasser, face washer, with a little twist of bath.

I am the one you told new jokes too, just to see if I would laugh.

I am the one who helped you with History and introduced you to

relatives you never knew.

And I am the one who spanked you when you filled your aunties

eye with glue.

I am Daddy, I leave ideas out there for you to linger.

I am the one who takes care of you when you are sick

and bandages fingers.

I am the one with little to no income,

but of every crumb I have, you’ve had some.

I am the one who lost arguments just to save face.

I am the one who told you not to play so much

and how to say Grace.

I am the one always pushing, challenging you to do your best.

I taught you how to read, ride a bike, and how to play chess.

I am Daddy, killer of spiders and builder of tents.

I am the one who taught you the difference between

two nickels and ten cents.

I am the one who showed you how to go to bed without

any light.

Without me your shoes would slip off because they wouldn’t

be tied tight.

I am Daddy discipliner estraordinaire, the one you told about your

fears and dreams.

The who who told you that you’re not as slick as you think

and things aren’t as bad as they seem.

I am Daddy… and I love you.

MG Hardie

