Yes this is an unusual take off on Rihanna’s song Rude Boy. Why you might ask. Well her song, which is very good, posed an interesting question “Rude Boy is you big enough?”  Ri-Ri’s Rude Boy is not just another dance hall, reggae, R&B  bass  pounding pop song about just sex. Rihanna belts out some very assertive lines of healthy consensual sex, yet and still some have been critical of the song as being too raunchy. I guess when Rihanna sings lyrics like  “Touch me there… Pull my hair… Kiss it there… Move it there…” perhaps her critics should have first asked “Too Raunchy for who?”

Rude Boy” clearly does show the confusion that presently exist in our society between Making Love, Having Sex and the need to be Loved “Take it, Take it, Love me, Love me“. Yes, several men have pointed me to the part of the video where she is just really workin’ it, but that’s what I mean by confusion.  My new book It Ain’t Just The Size main story arc is a love story that follows Lance and Princess as they find their way to love, this sounds simple enough until friends, family members and a gun complicate matters. “It Ain’t Just The Size” and “Rude Boy” are both calls for honest communication between men and women. “It Ain’t Just The Size” was conceived to give the reader more… More Hip-Hop, More Pop-Culture, More Music, More Social Commentary, More Poetry,  More Humor, More Love, More Solutions, More Inspiration, More for your dollar and who doesn’t want more?

It Ain’t Just The Size was compiled from hundreds of honest conversations with hundred of people, which were molded into a compelling story. You will undoubtedly hear and see phrases applied to this book that have never accompanied a book before and like Rihanna I too have my critics. There have been those that say “it’s too real”, “it’s too funny” or “it doesn’t fit in any category”. It Ain’t Just The Size has been called “One of the most Powerful book I’ve ever read“, “Amazing”, “Entertaining”, “Controversial” and “A Great Book” as it is  filled with  thought and drama.  The real question is, are you big enough to join the conversations?

While Rihanna does what American Entertainment demands of it’s young artist, which is to brand and market themselves, a dutch magazine saw fit to refer to her as “De Niggabitch”. Rihanna’s response “I hope you can read english, because your magazine is a poor representation of the evolution of human rights! I find you disrespectful, and rather desperate!! You ran out of legit, civilized information to print! There are 1000’s of Dutch girls who would love to be recognized for their contributions to your country, you could have given them that article. Instead, you paid to print one degrading an entire race! That’s your contribution to this world! To encourage segregation, to mislead the future leaders to act in the past! You put two words together, with the intent of abasement, that made no sense…”NIGGA BITCH”?!….Well with all due respect, on behalf of my race, I have put two words together for you…FUCK YOU!!!”

Blacks and particularly Black Women have endured more than their share of coded negatively in the name of popular culture and entertainment. They have primarily been viewed as mammies, oversexed, violent, whores, acid-tongue, loud-mouths, and lazy welfare mothers in disproportionately higher numbers than other races, although coded. The complaints have been many but those in the military-industrial media are profiting by presenting Black women as disregarded hyper-sexual female stereotypes, so much so that media outlets can called black women, NiggaBitches without so much as a second thought.

The resulting social media pressure for Jackie magazine caused this response from the editor. “Because of the enormous pressure from social media, I can promise improvement in terms of language used in future issues of Jackie. Previously, I offered rectification. As I now come to the conclusion that rectification is not the right solution, I am departing. The term ‘nigga bitch” come over from America and we have only this to describe this particular style of clothes that we can try to interpret. After eight years, with my heart and soul, I have worked for Jackie. I realize that these errors – although no malicious intent – is a reason to leave.”

And with that closed quote the controversy is over, until the next time.

