That's Mr. President to you...

I am sorry for all of the negative things I have said regarding your policies and possibly you personally. But you know me I have to comment on America’s newest favorite pasttime… Politics. I have to comment on the political moves of the week, the day, the minute. I am obligated to shed light on issues and things that may be overlooked, but that is what I do. Sure there are things I wish you would have done and things I wish you hadn’t done. You have your critics, but you also have your supporters. In all honesty, you are presiding over America at a time of true change. At time of divison and progress. You made us push forward when it would have been much easier to turn back. I want you to know that whether I was critical or supportive of your decisions it was not because I am black, or to become popular, or gain a following or even to use controversy as a platform. However, I can only apologize for myself I can not do so for others, they should take it upon themselves to come out of their glass houses and be counted, but most likely they wont.

I thought that congress acted stupidly when you saved the country three trillion dollars on the budget and then you asked for one trillion six months later to fund health care and they just told you No. You did the right thing you and expected them to act in kind. Yes, I chided you on repeatedly using these prime time speeches to get your point across. And privately I wondered if your constant emails to me could be considered Spam. Yes, I believe that you should have gotten rid of the blood sucking insurance companies all together and socialize health care. It looks all good now, but I still think you should have let the banks and automakers fail. If they were using predator lending practices, why are they not up on charges or fined. And the car has been obsolete for years, we should have moved on. I called you out on the call bring the troops home, which looks more like a move to relocate the troops. When California started issuing I.O.U.’s and saying that it was broke, I wanted you to do something! I wanted you to say that you would send those accountants in The White House to Sacramento to officially let everyone know, that it’s all a lie. I wanted you to say something about the Jena 6. When a policeman in Oakland California shot an unarmed black man, who was faced down, and Oakland residents rioted I wanted you to say something. When that officer was sentence to 2 years in prison the entire black community wanted you to say something. I wanted you not to pay attention to radio hosts who don’t write their own material or read. I wanted you to bankrupt BP for that oil spill. I didn’t want you to play politics in Washington. I wanted you to call out everyone one in congress who thinks that politics is a game and believe me Big O (if I can call you that) I am not the only one, but that would take all year.

I will say what most likely no one else will, Barack you’ve got guts! Not those quarterback we celebrate, Not the athletes that are on our children’s walls. Most of these so-called pundits can comment and afford to be wrong, but Barack in addition to your job as The Leader of the Free World and you have the unenvied honor of being member of a disenfranchised group of people. There are many African-Americans who want you to get rid of decades if not hundreds of years of oppression, injustice, and pain. Aside from that you have Whites watching you, looking for any hint of bias. Not many of the previous Commander in Chief’s ever have cared about minorities. For this reason you have been scrutinized and polled Ad nauseam and it wont stop now. I now realize that although you are a Black Man, and that these injustices and incidents must really, really eat at you, you can not be a Black Man in the White House. You are not a Black Leader. You are The President of the United States and from the way it looks apparently you can’t have any friends.

 All I have to say is that Barack you’ve got the hardest job in the entire 1st World and the fact that you are a Black Man makes that job harder than any other President before you. No one really wanted to be President at a time when America was so torn emotionally and economically. Yes, the Democrats pretended and the Republicans postured and derided you, but all of them are glad you won! They really are. Think about it they can target you all they want and offer no real alternative plan, no solution at all… and that has to be the biggest giggle in Congress. They wanted you to win as evidenced by the candidacy of McCain and the selection of Palin, privately they knew that no one wanted the job. If McCain had won when you be occupying Iran and North Korea right now and that’s no joke. He would have personally kicked all the gays out of the military. Bristol would have won Dancing with the Stars and no minority would have healthcare. Whew, the wool wasn’t pulled over my eyes that’s for sure. No one had the balls. No one had the guts. No one except Barack. Well Barack this is my apology to you, and I don’t do this often, but I am sorry for not realizing that your job is a hell of a lot harder than any of us will ever know…

You should be able to be human. You should be able to misspeak. It takes a very big person to give an apology and an even bigger one to actually mean it. Meaning things is a practice that has been lost in our society. It was not long ago it seemed that law enforcement were allowed to break one black man per week, alright sometimes two, or three, but where are we as a people now? That’s the question we all should be asking each other before be ask The President. We are the ones that should be inviting each other for beers.  Yes, this is clearly a learning and teaching moment, but not for you Mr. President, no sir, you’ve got bigger things to worry about. Barack you may not need it, but I will tell you what my grandmother told me long ago, … she said “Baby, you can’t please everybody.” Hey you’ve got a job to do, a job that no one else has… the job of running the country and I for one appreciate it because we are the ones who sat here and let it get messed up in the first place. On a side note I will be waiting on my beer invite to The White House.

Oh yeah, I will be calling you out again sometime in the future.

MG

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/mg.hardie?ref=name

http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Everyday-Life/M-G-Hardie/e/9781605940366/?itm=1&tabname=custreview#TABS

 

